The Pioneers

by Jack Schaefer

Readers searching for courage and adventure will find just that and more in the engaging prose of Jack Schaefer in this vintage collection of Western vignettes. Exploring varied tales of life in the West, Schaefer shares the stories of exceptional characters conflicted with humanity as they navigate the challenges and opportunities that can only be found on the frontier.

From the humor in "Cat Nipped" to the common concerns found in "Prudence by Name", Jack Schaefer again places himself as the authentic voice of the West. Other stories in the collection include "Something Lost", "Leander Frailey", "That Mark Horse", "My Town", "Harvey Kendall", "Out of the Past", "Old Anse", "Takes a Real Man", and "Hugo Kertchak, Builder".

Published throughout the early 1950s, these stories have captured our hearts and imaginations as true classics in Western fiction and will continue to do so time and time again.

Year First Published:1983
Short Story/Novella Collection

Genres, Series & More


Purchase New*


My Must Reads



Purchase Used & Rare *

The Pioneers
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780826358479      ISBN 10: 0826358470
Publisher: University of New Mexico Press  2017

Min Price: $10.36
Max Price: $21.05
Median Price: $16.82
# Books: 13


Also by Jack Schaefer

Also from 1983

* The Vintage Library receives a small affiliate fee for all qualified sales from our product providers.
We appreciate your support!



The Hemingway Stories
Later by Stephen King

Bookshop digital gift cards are the perfect gift for any avid reader.

Vintage Library at is an online bookstore with a mission to financially support local, independent bookstores.


Biblio - used, rare, out of print books for sale Thousands of booksellers - millions of books.