Store Wide Sale! 10% Off Everything!
(Discount applied in Shopping Cart)


Arch Oboler Retrospective: 10 Hours on 10 CDs

by Suspense

Poetic. Patriotic. Petrifying.

Arch Oboler, the prominent radio writer, producer and director, was a man possessed of noble ideals and a knack for the nefarious - capable of stoking both the fires of fear and the passion of national pride to a fever pitch. His way with words often led listeners deep inside a character's mind, following their stream-of consciousness straight to the heart of a universal truth. His pioneering work in narrative techniques and sound effects raised radio from mere medium to genuine art form.

Oboler was deeply devoted to the war effort, producing plays of men and women answering the call in spite of everything, and inspiring citizens on the home front to do the same. But, in a frightening world, perhaps he made people brave by poking a bit of fun at fear itself with his terrifying tales of the undoing of misguided souls.

This 10-hour tribute featuring many recordings available here for the first time, includes 20 digitally restored and remastered episodes, performances by James Cagney, Lloyd Bridges, Ingrid Bergman, Peter Lorre, Irene Dunn, Ronald Colman, Dinah Shore, Mary Astor, Olivia DeHaviland, Boris Karloff, and more, and a Program Guide by Elizabeth McLeod.

    EPISODES INCLUDE: Arch Oboler's Plays:
  • Bathysphere 11-18-39
  • Nobody Died 12-16-39
  • Johnny Got His Gun 03-09-40
  • Strange Morning 04-05-45
  • Love, Love, Love 05-03-45
  • An Exercise in Horror (A Peculiar Comedy) 05-24-45
  • Lust for Life 08-16-45
  • Rocket from Manhattan 09-20-45
    Lights Out:
  • Cat Wife 04-06-38
  • What the Devil 10-06-42
  • Knock at the Door 12-15-42
  • Valse Trieste 12-29-42
  • Everything For the Boys: Knuckles 01-25-44
  • The House I Live In 05-30-44
    Everyman's Theater:
  • I'll Tell My Husband 11-08-40
  • The Ugliest Man in the World 03-14-41
    Free World Theater:
  • The Last Will and Testament of Tom Smith 05-09-43
  • V Day 06-27-43
    To the President:
  • About My Mother 11-15-42
    Plays for Americans:
  • Johnny Quinn, USN 02-01-42

Price: $39.95
Sale Price: $36.95

2 Remaining In Stock. Order Soon!

Format: Audio Compact Disc
First Published: 1939

Add to Shopping Cart


All products are new condition unless noted otherwise.
Shipping is Only $9.45 PER ORDER for U.S. destinations.


Click here for more from Old Time Radio Suspense



More from Suspense