Speculative Fiction

Sub-Genres of Speculative Fiction

 

    The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

It's America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco, the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages. All because some twenty years earlier the United States lost a war--and is now occupied by Nazi Germany and Japan.

Year: 1962
Genre: Alternate HistoryScience FictionSpeculative FictionWWII: Afterword

    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction. In this groundbreaking novel, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Year: 2004
Genre: ActionHistoricalNear FuturePost ApocalypseSpeculative Fiction

    Gnomon by Nick Harkaway

In the world of Gnomon, citizens are constantly observed and democracy has reached a pinnacle of 'transparency.' Every action is seen, every word is recorded, and the System has access to its citizens' thoughts and memories--all in the name of providing the safest society in history. When suspected dissident Diana Hunter dies in government custody, it marks the first time a citizen has been killed during an interrogation. The System doesn't make mistakes...

Year: 2017
Genre: DetectiveDystopianNear FutureSpeculative Fiction

 

Featured Sub-Genres

 

Speculative Fiction > Alternate History

More from Alternate History


Speculative Fiction > Alternate Reality

More from Alternate Reality


Speculative Fiction > Apocalpyse

More from Apocalpyse


Speculative Fiction > Dystopian

More from Dystopian


Speculative Fiction > Fantasy

More from Fantasy


Speculative Fiction > Horror

More from Horror


Speculative Fiction > Near Future

More from Near Future


Speculative Fiction > Post Apocalypse

More from Post Apocalypse


Speculative Fiction > Science Fiction

More from Science Fiction


Speculative Fiction > Utopian

More from Utopian