Speculative

 

Featured Titles

    The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

It's America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco, the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages. All because some twenty years earlier the United States lost a war--and is now occupied by Nazi Germany and Japan.

Year: 1962
Genre: Alternate HistoryScience FictionSpeculative

    Time Enough for Love by Robert A. Heinlein

Heinlein's longest and most ambitious work, it is the story of a man so in love with Life that he refused to stop living it; and so in love with Time that he became his own ancestor.

Year: 1973
Genre: Speculative

    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction. In this groundbreaking novel, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Year: 2004
Genre: ActionHistoricalNear FuturePost ApocalypseSpeculative

    Gnomon by Nick Harkaway

In the world of Gnomon, citizens are constantly observed and democracy has reached a pinnacle of 'transparency.' Every action is seen, every word is recorded, and the System has access to its citizens' thoughts and memories--all in the name of providing the safest society in history. When suspected dissident Diana Hunter dies in government custody, it marks the first time a citizen has been killed during an interrogation. The System doesn't make mistakes...

Year: 2017
Genre: DystopianNear FutureSF DetectiveSpeculative

 

 

Titles

YearTitle

1895The Time Machine by H.G. Wells Dystopian, Speculative, Time Travel
1939Expanded Universe by Robert A. Heinlein Speculative, Heinlein's Future History, Short Stories
1950The Man Who Sold The Moon by Robert A. Heinlein Speculative, Heinlein's Future History, Short Stories
1951The Illustrated Man by Ray Bradbury Speculative, Short Stories
1960Venus Plus X by Theodore Sturgeon Soft SF, Speculative
1962A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess Dystopian, Near Future, Speculative
1962The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick Alternate History, Science Fiction, Speculative
1972334 by Thomas M. Disch Speculative, New York City
1973Time Enough for Love by Robert A. Heinlein Speculative, Heinlein's Future History, Lazarus Long
1975Peace by Gene Wolfe Speculative
1976The Best of C.L. Moore by C.L. Moore Fantasy, Speculative, Sword and Sorcery, Short Stories
1980Timescape by Gregory Benford Hard SF, Speculative, Time Travel
1985Chapterhouse: Dune by Frank Herbert Soft SF, Speculative, Dune Saga
1985The Cat Who Walks Through Walls by Robert A. Heinlein Speculative, Lazarus Long
1987To Sail Beyond the Sunset by Robert A. Heinlein Speculative, Lazarus Long
1988There are Doors by Gene Wolfe Speculative
1994Gun, with Occasional Music by Jonathan Lethem Near Future, Satire, Speculative
2004Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell Action, Historical, Near Future, Post Apocalypse, Speculative
2009The Best of Gene Wolfe by Gene Wolfe Speculative, Short Stories
2015A Borrowed Man by Gene Wolfe Speculative, Genetic Engineering
2017Gnomon by Nick Harkaway Dystopian, Near Future, SF Detective, Speculative
2020Interlibrary Loan by Gene Wolfe Speculative
2020The Arrest by Jonathan Lethem Speculative

 

 

Speculative > Alternate History

More from Alternate History


Speculative > Alternate Reality

More from Alternate Reality


Speculative > Apocalpyse

More from Apocalpyse


Speculative > Dystopian

More from Dystopian


Speculative > Fantasy

More from Fantasy


Speculative > Horror

More from Horror


Speculative > Near Future

More from Near Future


Speculative > Post Apocalypse

More from Post Apocalypse


Speculative > Science Fiction

More from Science Fiction


Speculative > Utopian

More from Utopian