Characters > Lew Archer

Featured Titles

    The Moving Target by Ross Macdonald

Like many Southern California millionaires, Ralph Sampson keeps odd company. There's the sun-worshipping holy man whom Sampson once gave his very own mountain; the fading actress with sidelines in astrology and S&M. Now one of Sampson's friends may have arranged his kidnapping.

Year: 1949
Genre: KidnappingPrivate Eye

    The Drowning Pool by Ross Macdonald

When a millionaire matriarch is found floating face down in the family pool, the prime suspects are her good-for-nothing son and his seductive teenage daughter.

Year: 1950
Genre: Murder MysteryPrivate Eye

    The Way Some People Die by Ross Macdonald

In a rundown house in Santa Monica, Mrs. Samuel Lawrence presses fifty crumpled bills into Lew Archer's hand and asks him to find her wandering daughter, Galatea. As the bodies begin to pile up, he finds that even angel faces can mask the blackest of hearts.Filled with dope, delinquents and murder, this is classic Macdonald and one of his very best in the Lew Archer series.

Year: 1951
Genre: Missing PersonPrivate Eye

    The Ivory Grin by Ross Macdonald

Traveling from sleazy motels to stately seaside manors, The Ivory Grin is one of Lew Archer's most violent and macabre cases ever.

Year: 1952
Genre: Private Eye

    Find a Victim by Ross Macdonald

Las Cruces wasn't a place most travelers would think to stop. But after private investigator Lew Archer plays the good samaritan and picks up a bloodied hitchhiker, he finds himself in town for a few days awaiting a murder inquest. And as the murder rate rises, Archer finds himself caught up in mystery where everyone is a suspect and everyone's a victim.

Year: 1954
Genre: Private Eye

Featured Authors

Featured Characters


See Also: Hardboiled Detective





1949The Moving Target by Ross Macdonald
1950The Drowning Pool by Ross Macdonald
1951The Way Some People Die by Ross Macdonald
1952The Ivory Grin by Ross Macdonald
1954Find a Victim by Ross Macdonald
1956The Barbarous Coast by Ross Macdonald
1958The Doomsters by Ross Macdonald
1959The Galton Case by Ross Macdonald
1961The Wycherly Woman by Ross Macdonald
1962The Zebra-Striped Hearse by Ross Macdonald
1963The Chill by Ross Macdonald
1965The Far Side of the Dollar by Ross Macdonald
1966Black Money by Ross Macdonald
1968The Instant Enemy by Ross Macdonald
1969The Goodbye Look by Ross Macdonald
1971The Underground Man by Ross Macdonald
1973Sleeping Beauty by Ross Macdonald
1976The Blue Hammer by Ross Macdonald





The Hemingway Stories
Later by Stephen King

Bookshop digital gift cards are the perfect gift for any avid reader.

Vintage Library at is an online bookstore with a mission to financially support local, independent bookstores.


Biblio - used, rare, out of print books for sale Thousands of booksellers - millions of books.