Authors > Lester Dent

(1905-1959) U.S. Author of 43 Doc Savage novels plus a number of other detective and adventure stories. Although Mr. Dent is most well known as the original and primary author for the Doc Savage series, his writing career and professional life included many other accomplishments.

From treasure hunter to rancher, from businessman to pilot, Lester Dent was a man of adventure much like his heroes. His writing career, in addition to the pulps, included the slicks, paperbacks, radio, and television.

Not only will you enjoy the action, adventure and heroes of these stories, you may notice that some of the characters appear to have been prototypes for some of your favorite characters later on down the line.

A Lester Dent Bibliography by Will Murray

Featured Titles:

Black Mask - Fall 2017

The greatest American detective magazine of all time is back with an all-new story by the creator of Doc Savage, Lester Dent. Also featuring classic hard-boiled detective stories by Horace McCoy, Wyatt Blassingame, Day Keene, Herbert Koehl, Kent Richards, Stephen McBarron, Dwight V. Babcock, Hugh B. Cave, and Edgar Franklin, all from the golden age of pulp fiction.

Year: 2017
Genre: Black Mask

Genius Jones

The gold-dusted saga of a red-bearded young giant, raised in the Arctic on seal-meat and encyclopedias, who descends on civilization with a loud and solid crash. In his search for wisdom and adventure, the man Jones doesn't have Aladdin's lamp-but he doesn't really need it....

Year: 1937
Genre: Pulp Fiction



Year TitleGenres Tags

1937Genius JonesPulp Fiction
2017Black Mask - Fall 2017Black Mask